Eating Animals Thoughts on Morality

So many people these days consider themselves to be a vegetarian or an animal rights activist, but do half of them even realize how many products they are eating/using that contain animal by-products? Read the following to get a quick glance on how many products contain gelatin.

Gelatin is an unacceptable product to vegetarians as it is a by-product of the slaughterhouse industry. On a commercial scale, gelatin is made from by-products of the meat and leather industry, mainly pork skins, pork and cattle bones, or split cattle hides.

Recently, by-products of the fishery industry began to be considered as raw material for gelatin production because they eliminate most of the religious obstacles surrounding gelatin consumption. Contrary to popular belief, horns and hooves are not commonly used. Household gelatin comes in the form of sheets, granules or powder. Instant types can be added to the food as they are; others need to be soaked in water beforehand.

Here are some examples of products containing gelatin:

-Isinglass, used in fining some alcoholic drinks, is a type of gelatin from the air bladders of certain kinds of fish

-It is used to hold silver halide crystals in an emulsion in virtually all photographic films and photographic papers. Despite some efforts, no suitable substitutes with the stability and low cost of gelatin have been found.

-Used as a carrier, coating or separating agent for other substances; it, for example, makes beta-carotene water-soluble, thus imparting a yellow color to any soft drinks containing beta-carotene.

-Gelatin is used for the clarification of juices, such as apple juice, and of vinegar. Isinglass, from the swim bladders of fish, is still in use as a fining agent for wine and beer. Beside hartshorn jelly, from deer antlers (hence the name “hartshorn”), isinglass was one of the oldest sources of gelatin.

-Common examples of foods that contain gelatin are gelatin desserts, jelly, trifles, aspic, marshmallows, and confectioneries such as Peeps and gummy bears. Gelatin may be used as a stabilizer, thickener, or texturizer in foods such as ice cream, jams, yogurt, cream cheese, and margarine; it is used, as well, in fat-reduced foods to simulate the mouth feel of fat and to create volume without adding calories.

-Cosmetics may contain a non-gelling variant of gelatin under the name “hydrolyzed collagen”.

Before you consider yourself a vegetarian/animal rights activist make sure you are aware of this so you don’t make yourself look stupid!